Economics, Monetization, and Online Markets Track

Invitation and dates

We invite research contributions to the Economics, Monetization, and Online Markets Track at the 28th edition of the Web Conference series (formerly known as WWW), to be held May 13-17, 2019 in San Francisco, United States (

The Web has transformed many traditional businesses, from shopping to advertising, and has been a platform for new economic activities such as cloud computing, crowdsourcing, and the sharing economy.

The track on Web Economics, Monetization, and Online Markets is a forum for theoretical, empirical, and applied research related to the modeling, analysis, and design of Web-specific economic activities.

Topics include (but are not limited to)

  • Advertising auctions, markets, and exchanges
  • Fairness and privacy in economic environments
  • Incentives in user generated content: ratings, reviews, and reputation systems
  • Economics of cloud computing
  • The sharing economy
  • Mobile advertising
  • Incentives in gamification
  • Web and mobile app ecosystems
  • Online trading and computational finance


Abstract submission deadline
Oct 29 2018
Full paper submission deadline
Nov 05 2018
Acceptance notification
Jan 21 2019

All submission deadlines are end-of-day in the Anywhere on Earth (AoE) time zone.

Track Chairs

  • Sergei Vassilvitskii Google, United States
  • Tie-Yan Liu Microsoft Research, China



Program committee

  • Andres Munoz Medina Google
  • Azarakhsh Malekian University of Toronto
  • Balasubramanian Sivan Google
  • Christopher Wilkens Facebook
  • David Pennock Microsoft
  • Edith Elkind University of Oxford
  • Eric Balkanski Harvard University
  • Georgios Piliouras Singapore University of Technology and Design
  • Ian Kash Microsoft
  • James Wright University of Alberta
  • Kamesh Munagala Duke University
  • Kate Larson University of Waterloo
  • Krishnamurthy Iyer Cornell University
  • Liad Blumrosen Hebrew University
  • Lirong Xia RPI
  • Martin Pal Google
  • Matthew Backus Columbia University
  • Mohammad Mahdian Google
  • Negin Golrezaei MIT
  • Nikhil Devanur Microsoft
  • Okke Schrijvers Stanford University
  • Patrick Hummel Google
  • Randolph Mcafee Microsoft
  • Sam Ganzfried Florida International University
  • Sara Krehbiel University of Richmond
  • Sebastien Lahaie Microsoft
  • Shuai Li University of Cambridge
  • Sigal Oren Ben-Gurion University
  • Simina Branzei Purdue University
  • Sofia Ceppi University of Edinburgh
  • Stefano Leonardi Sapienza University of Rome
  • Vasilis Gkatzelis Drexel University
  • Vasilis Syrgkanis Microsoft

Contribute to the Web of tomorrow

Research Tracks

Our Partners and Sponsors

Become a sponsor »