User Modeling, Personalization, and Experience

Invitation and dates

We invite research contributions to the User Modeling, Personalization, and Experience Track at the 28th edition of the Web Conference series (formerly known as WWW), to be held May 13-17, 2019 in San Francisco, United States (

A large swath of user interaction with various online services happens through devices connected to the World Wide Web. Hence, developing technologies to understand and enhance user experience has become one of the most challenging problems for Web researchers and practitioners. Recent advances have enabled the processing of vast amounts of data collected from these devices, using techniques from machine learning, statistical modeling, natural language processing, speech recognition, and others. The sheer volume of interactions has also made it possible to innovate and experiment continuously in a data-driven fashion, based on users’ interactions and feedback. In this track we invite original research submissions addressing all aspects of user behavior analytics, personalization, and experience.

Topics include (but are not limited to)

  • User modeling, log analysis, and interaction models
  • User interfaces, design and evaluation
  • User experience with interactive and conversational systems
  • Intelligent agents and personal assistants
  • Personalization of the Web experience
  • Personalization and recommendation for the social Web
  • Recommendation approaches and recommender systems
  • Experiment design for user studies and online testing
  • Qualitative methods to collect and analyze user feedback
  • Combining user feedback from multiple sources
  • Efficient algorithms for large-scale log analysis
  • Metrics for user behaviour and evaluating success
  • Discrimination-aware methods for personalization
  • Avoidance of over-personalization and “filter bubbles”
  • Innovative methods to enhance online user experience
  • Practical large-scale studies of user experience
  • Personalized content ranking and presentation
  • Session analysis for user understanding


Abstract submission deadline
Oct 29 2018
Full paper submission deadline
Nov 05 2018
Acceptance notification
Jan 21 2019

All submission deadlines are end-of-day in the Anywhere on Earth (AoE) time zone.

Track Chairs

  • Debora Donato Mix, United States
  • Filip Radlinski Google, United Kingdom
  • Pavel Serdyukov Yandex, Russia



Program committee

  • Alexey Drutsa Yandex
  • Brian Davison Lehigh University
  • Dietmar Jannach AAU Klagenfurt
  • Ian Soboroff NIST
  • Jennifer Golbeck University of Maryland
  • Luca Maria Aiello Nokia Bell Labs
  • Mihajlo Grbovic Airbnb
  • Milad Shokouhi Microsoft
  • Mounia Lalmas Spotify
  • Nadia Fawaz LinkedIn
  • Nemanja Djuric Uber ATG
  • Nuria Oliver Vodafone Research
  • Pablo Castells Universidad Autónoma de Madrid
  • Peter Brusilovsky University of Pittsburgh
  • Shlomo Berkovsky CSIRO
  • Steffen Rendle Google
  • Vladan Radosavljevic OLX
  • Yves Raimond Netflix
  • Abraham Bagherjeiran A9 /
  • Akshay Soni Yahoo
  • Alan Said University of Skövde
  • Alejandro Bellogin Universidad Autonoma de Madrid
  • Aleksandr Chuklin Google
  • Aleksandr Vorobev Yandex
  • Alex Beutel Google
  • Alexander Felfernig Graz University of Technology
  • Alexandros Karatzoglou Telefonica Research
  • Alistair Moffat University of Melbourne
  • Amir Ingber Amazon Research
  • Anastasia Bezzubtseva Yandex
  • Anne Schuth De Persgroep
  • Ashok Chandrashekar Netflix
  • Bart Knijnenburg Clemson University
  • Bernd Ludwig University Regensburg
  • Bhargav Kanagal Google
  • Birger Larsen Aalborg University
  • Casey Dugan IBM T.J. Watson Research
  • Cecile Bothorel Telecom Bretagne
  • Christoph Trattner University of Bergen
  • Cody Buntain University of Maryland
  • Daniel Kluver University of Minnesota
  • David Konopnicki IBM
  • Deguang Kong Yahoo Research, Oath
  • Denis Parra Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile
  • Di Jiang Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
  • Ed H. Chi Google
  • Elad Kravi Amazon Research
  • Elizabeth M. Daly IBM
  • Elnaz Nouri Microsoft
  • Franco Maria Nardini ISTI-CNR
  • Frank Hopfgartner University of Sheffield
  • Gleb Gusev Yandex
  • Haggai Roitman IBM Research Haifa
  • Hamed Haddadi Imperial College London
  • Harald Steck Netflix
  • Henriette Cramer Spotify
  • Hossein Vahabi Pandora Media Inc.
  • Hui Fang University of Delaware
  • Ilya Markov University of Amsterdam
  • Iván Cantador Universidad Autónoma de Madrid
  • Jae-Wook Ahn University of Pittsburgh
  • Javier Parapar University of A Coruña
  • Jiannan Lu Microsoft
  • Jingjing Liu University of South Carolina
  • Joemon Jose University of Glasgow
  • Julia Kiseleva Microsoft Research AI
  • Julia Proskurnia Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
  • Jussara Almeida UFMG
  • Justin Basilico Netflix
  • Karthik Raman Google
  • Kinjal Basu LinkedIn
  • Klaus Berberich Max Planck Institute for Informatics
  • Konstantina Christakopoulou University of Minnesota
  • Konstantinos Tserpes Harokopio University of Athens
  • Krisztian Balog University of Stavanger
  • Kyumin Lee Worcester Polytechnic Institute
  • Lars Schmidt-Thieme University of Hildesheim
  • Li Chen Hong Kong Baptist University
  • Liang Zhang LinkedIn
  • Liangjie Hong Etsy Inc.
  • Lichan Hong Google
  • Ludovico Boratto Eurecat
  • Luiz Pizzato Commonwealth Bank of Australia
  • Makoto Yamada RIKEN AIP
  • Marco De Gemmis University of Bari
  • Maria Bielikova Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava
  • Marko Tkalcic Free University of Bozen-Bolzano
  • Markus Schedl Johannes Kepler University
  • Markus Strohmaier RWTH Aachen University & GESIS
  • Martijn Willemsen Eindhoven University of Technology
  • Massimo Melucci University of Padova
  • Mehdi Elahi Free University of Bozen-Bolzano
  • Michael Cole LexisNexis
  • Michael Ekstrand Boise State University
  • Michael Jugovac TU Dortmund
  • Mirjam Wattenhofer Google
  • Mitul Tiwari LinkedIn
  • Neil Hurley University College Dublin
  • Panagiotis Adamopoulos Emory University
  • Panagiotis Symeonidis Free University of Bozen-Bolzano
  • Paolo Cremonesi Politecnico di Milano
  • Pasquale Lops University of Bari
  • Pavel Dmitriev Microsoft
  • Qiang Ma Google
  • Rishabh Mehrotra Spotify
  • Roman Budylin Yandex
  • Rossano Schifanella University of Turin
  • Sergey Kirshner Facebook
  • Shaghayegh Sahebi University at Albany - SUNY
  • Slobodan Vucetic Temple University
  • Suleyman Cetintas Yahoo Research Oath
  • Udo Kruschwitz University of Essex
  • Valentina Fedorova Yandex
  • Vincent W. Zheng Advanced Digital Sciences Center
  • Vishwa Vinay Adobe Research Bangalore
  • Werner Geyer IBM T.J. Watson Research
  • Wolfgang Nejdl L3S and University of Hannover
  • Yashar Moshfeghi University of Strathclyde
  • Yong Zheng Illinois Institute of Technology
  • Yuheng Hu University of Illinois at Chicago
  • Yuxiao Dong Microsoft

Contribute to the Web of tomorrow

Research Tracks

Our Partners and Sponsors

About Our Sponsors »