Web and Society

Invitation and dates

We invite research contributions to the Web and Society Track at the 28th edition of the Web Conference series (formerly known as WWW), to be held May 13-17, 2019 in San Francisco, United States (www2019.thewebconf.org).

The Web deeply impacts societies world-wide. The Web constitutes a platform that facilitates as well as changes the way that societies work. The Web has been established as an instrument for sensing what is happening within and between societies and societal groups. And, finally, the Web raises the need to reflect which values societies need to pursue and how to pursue them in an increasingly digitized world.

We encourage submissions in all areas that concern the interaction of Web and Society or Societies. We would like submissions to focus on advancing the understanding of the impact and present or envisioned applications of the social web in traditional/mainstream media, governments, non- governmental organizations and business, and in sectors such as health care, science, and education. We also encourage papers connecting the social web to interdisciplinary issues regarding employment, labor, legislation, politics, governance, democracy and economics; changes in homes, workplaces, schools, and the city. We appreciate algorithmic and system approaches, as well as data studies.

Topics include (but are not limited to)

  • Computational social science
  • Novel digital data and/or computational analyses for addressing societal challenges
  • Humanities, arts and culture on the Web
  • Data-driven political science
  • Modeling, designing, operating, and evaluating socio-technical systems
  • Smart cities
  • Virtual communities including massive multi-player games, massive courses, fora, and others
  • Ethical issues in the analysis of web data
  • Methods and analyses for algorithmic accountability
  • Algorithmic fairness and bias correction
  • Reproducibility in computational social science research
  • Online opinion dynamics
  • Trust and reputation
  • Temporal and spatial now-casting
  • Filter bubbles and online polarization
  • Disinformation, misinformation, fact-checking, and provenance
  • Mitigation of abusive, sexist, racist, and hateful speech online

Submissions should explain clearly how they are related to the interaction between Web and Society. Submissions must indicate how they have addressed the ethical dimension of their research. We encourage interdisciplinary research approaches involving sociology, psychology, communication and media sciences, political sciences, or others.


Abstract submission deadline
Oct 29 2018
Full paper submission deadline
Nov 05 2018
Acceptance notification
Jan 21 2019

All submission deadlines are end-of-day in the Anywhere on Earth (AoE) time zone.

Track Chairs

  • Carlos Castillo Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Spain
  • Munmun De Choudhury Georgia Institute of Technology, United States



Program committee

  • Abbie Jacobs azjacobs@haas.berkeley.edu
  • Alejandro Jaimes aj27@caa.columbia.edu
  • Alexandra Olteanu alexandra@aolteanu.com
  • Andreas Kaltenbrunner kaltenbrunner@gmail.com
  • Ashton Anderson ashton@cs.toronto.edu
  • Barbara Poblete bpoblete@dcc.uchile.cl
  • Camille Roth camille.roth@sciencespo.fr
  • Chenhao Tan chenhao@chenhaot.com
  • Chico Camargo chico.camargo@oii.ox.ac.uk
  • Christian Bauckhage christian.bauckhage@iais.fraunhofer.de
  • Cody Buntain cbuntain@cs.umd.edu
  • Cristian Danescu-Niculescu-Mizil cristian@cs.cornell.edu
  • Daniel Romero drom@umich.edu
  • Daniela Paolotti daniela.paolotti@isi.it
  • Daniele Quercia daniele.quercia@gmail.com
  • David Garcia garcia@csh.ac.at
  • David Jurgens jurgens@umich.edu
  • David Liben-Nowell dln@carleton.edu
  • Dongwon Lee dongwon@psu.edu
  • Ee-Peng Lim eplim@smu.edu.sg
  • Emilio Ferrara emilio.ferrara@gmail.com
  • Eric Malmi eric.malmi@gmail.com
  • Eytan Adar eadar@umich.edu
  • Fabian Flöck fabian.floeck@gesis.org
  • Fabricio Benevenuto fabricio@dcc.ufmg.br
  • Fred Morstatter Fred.Morstatter@asu.edu
  • Haewoon Kwak haewoon@acm.org
  • Harith Alani h.alani@open.ac.uk
  • Ingmar Weber ingmarweber@acm.org
  • Jalal Mahmud jumahmud@us.ibm.com
  • Jana Diesner jdiesner@illinois.edu
  • Jennifer Golbeck golbeck@cs.umd.edu
  • Jeremy Blackburn blackburn@uab.edu
  • Jisun An jisun.an@acm.org
  • Juergen Pfeffer juergen.pfeffer@tum.de
  • Kevin Munger km2713@nyu.edu
  • Kiran Garimella kiran.garimella@aalto.fi
  • Kristen Altenburger kaltenb@stanford.edu
  • Laura Nelson l.nelson@northeastern.edu
  • Leslie Carr lac@ecs.soton.ac.uk
  • Luca Maria Aiello luca.aiello@nokia-bell-labs.com
  • Lydia Manikonda lydia.manikonda@gmail.com
  • Maria Bermudez-Edo mbe@ugr.es
  • Marina Kogan mkogan@unm.edu
  • Mark Keane mark.keane@ucd.ie
  • Markus Luczak-Roesch markus.luczak-roesch@vuw.ac.nz
  • Miriam Fernandez miriam.fs@gmail.com
  • Miriam Redi Miriam.Redi@gmail.com
  • Momin Malik momin.malik@gmail.com
  • Olessia Koltsova ekoltsova@hse.ru
  • Onur Varol ovarol2005@gmail.com
  • Pablo Aragón elaragon@gmail.com
  • Pablo Barberá pablo.barbera@nyu.edu
  • Paolo Parigi pparigi@stanford.edu
  • Payam Barnaghi P.Barnaghi@surrey.ac.uk
  • Pinelopi Troullinou p.troullinou@gmail.com
  • Przemyslaw Grabowicz przemyslslaw@gmail.com
  • Robert West robert.bob.west@gmail.com
  • Saeideh Bakhshi saeideh@gatech.edu
  • Sandra Gonzalez-Bailon sgonzalezbailon@asc.upenn.edu
  • Scott Hale scott.hale@oii.ox.ac.uk
  • Sebastian Deri smd247@cornell.edu
  • Umashanthi Pavalanathan umashanthip@gmail.com
  • Virgilio Almeida virgilio@dcc.ufmg.br
  • Wagner Meira Jr. meira@dcc.ufmg.br
  • Yu-Ru Lin yuruliny@gmail.com

Contribute to the Web of tomorrow

Research Tracks

Our Partners and Sponsors

Become a sponsor »